Dreaming of The Singularity

On November 9, 2012 I dreamt I was designing with the aid of artificial intelligence (AI). In this dream my hands and arms were deep inside two large, translucent, and blue extensions of my body. Through these large virtual gloves I could manipulate an equally large, translucent, and blue object. The object was shaped like a torus and within it were several concentric rings. As my hands guided the general manipulations and sculpting of the object, the computer’s AI handled the more delicate operations. Utilizing dozens of kinematic armatures extending from my large virtual arms, the AI manipulated numerous intricate facets protruding from all across the object’s broad animate surfaces.

As the computer and I worked together in this sort of symbiotic waltz, a far off voice uttered the name “Kerzwyle”. At this moment I woke up. I immediately searched for the name “Kerzwyle” on the internet. The search engine recommended Raymond Kurzweil, author of “The Singularity is Near: When Humans Transcend Biology” and inventor of text-to-speech technology. I had no recollection of hearing or seeing that name prior to my dream. I can only imagine I must have read something in the past that referenced the author and his book within some inconsequential context.

Even more perplexing and freaky than the dream: While I was looking to purchase “The Singularity” I discovered that his next book “How to Create a Mind: The Secret of Human Thought Revealed” was due to release in just a few days.

Have you ever had an experience like this? One where a subconscious dream leads you through a sequence of events in your waking, conscious life?

Leave a Reply

